Speaking With… Colbie Caillat

Question: How did you team up with Jason Mraz?

Colbie Caillat: Right about the time I was getting started [in the business], he heard my music and sent me an

e-mail saying he wanted to write with me. He had this song and he wanted me to help him finish it. We worked totally via e-mail, sending chords and lyrics back and forth until we finished it. I met him finally when I flew to London to record the song with him.

Q: How did you fall into songwriting?

CC: Growing up, I was singing all the time but had no desire to learn any instrument. My parents (her dad is record producer Ken Caillat, who produced “Rumours” and “Tusk” for Fleetwood Mac) kept telling me how important it was to learn an instrument. So I went to my first guitar lesson when I was 19 and learned four chords that day. I was so excited I went into my parents’ bathroom and wrote my first song using those four chords. I fell in love with songwriting that day. [The song] is called “Someday.” I haven’t released it yet. I might someday.

Q: Are you already working on a third album?

CC: I’m recording it right now. It’s some new songs, some old songs. We’ve got some cool, fresh beats behind them — a bit funkier and fresher sound. Some are uptempo, but they’re all my same style. They’re all love songs.

Q. Is it hard to write a love song?

CC: It’s almost too easy. I guess especially because right now I’m madly in love with someone.

Q. So, who is this guy?

CC: His name is Justin Young. He’s from Hawaii but he’s a huge Bears fan. I will be singing the national anthem at a Bears game in the fall.

Q. Who are you listening to these days?

CC: Tom Petty, Fleetwood Mac, Katy Perry, the Fray, Phoenix.

Q. Do you get tired of people saying you look like Jennifer Aniston?

CC: I think she’s beautiful, so it’s a nice compliment.

____________________

ESCLARECIMENTOS:

Eu não estou com muito tempo sobrando… por isso não traduzi essa entrevista. Mas vou traduzir a parte em que todos ficaram “com a pulga atrás da orelha.”

Q. Is it hard to write a love song?

CC: It’s almost too easy. I guess especially because right now I’m madly in love with someone.

Q. So, who is this guy?

CC: His name is Justin Young. He’s from Hawaii but he’s a huge Bears fan. I will be singing the national anthem at a Bears game in the fall.”

TRADUZINDO:

Q. E difícil compor músicas românticas?

CC: É bem fácil. Eu acho que especialmente agora porque eu estou muito apaixonada por alguém.

Q. Então, quem é esse cara?

CC: O nome dele é Justin Young…”

Bem, pra quem não sabe, Justin Young é integrante da banda da Colbie. Mas pelo o que eu sempre soube, eles eram amigos. Não achei nada falando sobre o namoro dos dois. Quem quiser ver um vídeo dos dois cantando juntos:

____________________

Entrevista do site suntimes.com

7 comentários em “Speaking With… Colbie Caillat

Adicione o seu

  1. Ah, pra ela falar que está apaixonada, devem estar namorando sim, mas não parece pois a Colbie é bem discreta. Mas tem um tempo já que reparo ela com aliança em alguns videos de entrevista. *__*

  2. A verdade dita por fonte próxima que é o pai dela que eu conheço e tenho contato é que ela esta realmente apaixonada namorando,só não sei dizer se é o Justin Young.O amor é tanto que já até falam em casamento para em breve…Enfim se ela esta feliz então esta tudo bem:)

Deixe um comentário

Acima ↑

